1/10
1/7
1/8
1/6
1/7
1/9
1/8
1/15
1/13
1/10
1/8
1/10
1/12
1/9
1/8
1/11
1/7

Christopher Freemen Centenary Year 2021-22

Click to Join
Meeting ID: 852 9580 3304
Passcode: 2021

YouTube Live

Freeman Projected into the Future

Three online seminars on the Freeman Special Issue of Innovation and Development
Jointly organised with Globelics and Innovation and Development Journal
 

July 28, August 11 & 25

Time: 2.30 PM – 4.10 PM GMT+1 (London)

| Adelaide 11:00 PM | Athens* 4:30 PM | Auckland 1:30 AM Next Day | Beijing  9:30 PM | Berlin* 3:30 PM | Brisbane 11:30 PM | Cairo 3:30 PM |Calgary* 7:30 AM |Cape Town 3:30 PM | Chicago* 8:30 AM |Denver* 7:30 AM |Dubai 5:30 PM | Hong Kong 9:30 PM |Honolulu 3:30 AM | Houston* 8:30 AM |Jakarta 8:30 PM |Karachi 6:30 PM |Kiev* 4:30 PM |Kuala Lumpur 9:30 PM | Lagos 2:30 PM | London* 2:30 PM | Los Angeles* 6:30 AM | Manila 9:30 PM | Melbourne 11:30 PM |Mexico City* 8:30 AM |Moscow 5:30 PM | Mumbai 7:00 PM | Nairobi 4:30 PM | New York* 9:30 AM | Paris* 3:30 PM | Perth 9:30 PM | Phoenix 6:30 AM | Riyadh 4:30 PM | Santiago 9:30 AM | Sao Paulo 10:30 AM | Singapore 9:30 PM | Sydney 11:30 PM | Tel Aviv* 4:30 PM | Toronto* 9:30 AM | Vancouver* 6:30 AM | * : Under daylight saving time (DST) or summer time adjustment.

To contribute to the celebration of Christopher Freeman's 100th birthday anniversary, the journal Innovation and Development has organised a special section containing a diverse selection of essays and comments from early career scholars. The aim was to hear the voices of younger scholars concerning the relevance of Freeman’s ideas in the context of present-day development issues. The special issue was guest edited by Gabriela Dutrénit and Judith Sutz.

 

To make these voices of early career scholars be heard more broadly, Globelics and the journal Innovation and Development are organizing three online seminars. The seminars will have the format of a conversation between authors of essays and comments for the special issue and senior scholars who were close to Chris Freeman. 

ORGANISING TEAM

images (1)_edited_edited_edited

Judith Sutz

Dutrenit_2019b

Gabriela Dutrénit

KJ_edited

KJ Joseph

SEC 2019 crop_edited

Susan E. Cozzens

GKR_edited_edited

GK Rajesh

Jana-Schmutzler_edited

Jana Schmutzler

RL_edited_edited_edited_edited_edited

Rasmus Lema

logos-5_edited

Globelics | Innovation & Development Special Issue | cris-is.org

REGISTER NOW!

ZOOM LINK: https://us06web.zoom.us/j/85295803304?pwd=cGxRWlhvTlRvUnRZaFovRU0vUlkwUT09

 

Meeting ID: 852 9580 3304  | Passcode: 2021

This zoom link, ID and passcode are common to all the three events. 

  • Freeman Projected into the Future: SEMINAR-2
    Bengt-Ake Lundvall | Helena Lastres | Susan E Cozzens | Betty-Ann Ananeh-Frempong (Ghana) | Shagufta Haneef (Pakistan) | José Miguel Natera (Mexico) | Arthur Moreira (Brazil)
  • Freeman Projected into the Future: SEMINAR-3
    Judith Sutz | Jorge Katz | Slavo Radosevic | Fakher Omezzine | Pavel Gabriel Corilloclla Terbullino (Peru) | Rhiannon Pugh (GB) |Jana Schmutzler (Colombia) | Alexandra Tvetskova (Rusia) | Florencia Fiorentin | Diana Suárez (Argentina)
  • Freeman Projected into the Future: SEMINAR-1
    RSVP Closed
    28 Jul, 2:30 pm GMT+1
    ZOOM
    Carlota Pérez | Luc Soete | KJ Joseph | Gabriela Dutrénit | Chipo N Ngongoni | Manuel Gonzalo | Natalia Gras | Kejia Yang |

PUTTING AFRICA FIRST
in fond memory of Christopher Freeman

16 August 2021 onwards

Chris Freeman Centenary Lecture Series


CALL FOR PRESENTATIONS

INNOVATION SYSTEMS-102
 
PRACTICAL APPLICATION OF THE THEORY

 

Christopher Freeman is the founder of modern Innovation Studies. His influence on the field has been phenomenal. This online lecture series organized by CRIS-IS.ORG is a tribute to Freeman, in his birth centenary year. The first season of the series titled ‘Innovation Systems-101’ dealt with the theoretical aspects of Innovation Systems (IS). The series was noted for its content and participation. In response to the popular demand for a series on practical application of IS, we announce Innovation Systems-102.
 

Target audience of Innovation Systems-102 is budding researchers, grad-students and inter-disciplinarians who aspire to use the analytical frame of Innovation Systems (IS) in their research, but face difficulty in the practical application of the theory.  IS-102 is designed to give them an opportunity to listen to and network with scholars already working in the domain. We hope this will embolden grad-students, especially from Global South, where the training facility in 'IS' is still scanty.

The IS-102 series will start on 8th October 2021, and feature lectures once in two weeks.

Each session will consist of a presentation followed by comments, giving an opportunity to presenters to have their work and ideas discussed by senior innovation scholars. Simultaneously, IS-102 offers the opportunity to those attending to learn from real-life experience, how theory can be applied in research.  Other benefits include a certificate and enhanced visibility in the academic network. 

More details & submission procedure

About the Series

Chris Freeman Centenary Lecture Series

Christopher Freeman is the founder of modern Innovation Studies.

His influence on the field has been phenomenal. This online lecture series is a tribute to Freeman, in his birth centenary year.

 

The target audience is budding researchers, grad-students and inter-disciplinarians who aspire to use the analytical frame of Innovation Systems (IS) in their research, but lack a thorough grounding in the theory.  The Chris Freeman Centenary Lecture series is designed to serve as a 'text book', giving them an opportunity to listen to and network with scholars already working in the domain.

We hope this would embolden grad-students, especially from Global South, where adequate training facility in 'IS' is still scanty. The online lecture series started on 7-January and would last throughout the year.

 

The first series titled Innovation Systems-101 was streamed live-online between 07.01.2021 and 07.04.2021 and was a glaring success. The second season titled Innovation Systems-102 - Practical Application of the Theory will be launched during October, 2021.

Past Events

INNOVATION SYSTEMS-101: The first seson of Chris Freeman Centenary Lecture Series was live streamed online from 1st January to 7th April, 2021. The series featured the following lectures.

LECTURE-1: INAUGURAL LECTURE: Innovation System Research and Economic Development ' -07.01.2021 | LECTURE-2: The economics of technological change -13.01.2021 | LECTURE-3: Origins of Innovation Systems -21.01.2021 | LECTURE-4: Theoretical foundations of National Systems of Innovation -28.01.2021 | LECTURE-5: Evolutionary core of NSI -05.02.2021 | LECTURE-6: The institutional aspect of NSI -12.02.2021 | LECTURE-7: Different approaches to NSI - 19.02.2021 | LECTURE-8: Application of NSI -26.02.2021 | LECTURE-9: NSI as economic development tool -03.03.2021 | LECTURE-10: Critique on NSI, Dilemmas and New Challenges -10.03.2021 | LECTURE-11: Quantitative and Qualitative Research Approaches in NSI. -17.03.2021 | LECTURE-12: Developmental universities in inclusive innovation systems - 24.03.2021 | PANEL DISCUSSION-1 (01.04.2021) Foundations, Evolution, Development and Global South: PART-I | PANEL DISCUSSION-2 (07.04.2021) Foundations, Evolution, Development and Global South: PART-2

'Innovation Systems -101' Lecture Series

  • Panel -II
    RSVP Closed
    Wed, 07 Apr
    ZOOM
    07 Apr, 2:00 pm – 5:30 pm UTC
    ZOOM
    Innovation Systems: Foundations, Evolution, Development and Global South : PART-II Richard Nelson | Xiaolan Fu | Charles Edquist | Susan Cozzens | Giovanni Dosi | Michiko Iizuka | Francisco Louça | Franco Malerba | Judith Francis | Laurens Klerkx | Smita Srinivas | Edward Lorenz
  • Panel -I
    RSVP Closed
    Thu, 01 Apr
    ZOOM online
    01 Apr, 2:00 pm – 5:30 pm UTC
    ZOOM online
    Innovation Systems: Foundations, Evolution, Development and Global South: PART-I Alan Freeman |Ann Kingiri |Bitrina Diyamet | Carlota Perez | Helena Lastres | Joseph K.J | Judith Sutz | Keun Lee | Lena Trojer | Mammo Muchie |Marina Szapiro | Rasigan Maharajh (Moderator)
  • Carlos G. Acevedo & Getachew S. | Gabriela Dutrenit & Lena Trojer
    24 Mar, 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm GMT
    ZOOM online
    LECTURE-12: DEVELOPMENTAL UNIVERSITIES IN INCLUSIVE INNOVATION SYSTEMS by Dr. Carlos Acevedo & Dr. Getachew S. E. CHAIR:Prof. Gabriela Dutrenit, Universidad Autónoma Metropolita, Mexico & Prof. Lena Trojer, Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Abiodun E. & Oluwayemisi A. | Gabriel Yoguel
    RSVP Closed
    Wed, 17 Mar
    ZOOM online
    17 Mar, 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm GMT
    ZOOM online
    LECTURE-11 QUANTITATIVE AND QUALITATIVE RESEARCH APPROACHES IN NSI. by Dr. Abiodun Egbetokun, National Centre for Technology Management, Nigeria & Dr. Oluwayemisi Oyekunle, Tshwane University of Technology, South Africa. CHAIR: Professor G. Yoguel, Ntl. University of General Sarmiento, Argentina
  • Leonardo S. | Judith Sutz
    RSVP Closed
    Wed, 10 Mar
    ZOOM online
    10 Mar, 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm GMT
    ZOOM online
    LECTURE-10: CRITIQUE ON NSI, DILEMMAS AND NEW CHALLENGES by Dr. Leonardo Souza, NODUS-OTT, Mexico City. CHAIR: Professor Judith Sutz, University of the Republic of Uruguay
  • Kehinde M. & Elvis K. Avenyo | Manuel M. Godinho
    RSVP Closed
    Wed, 03 Mar
    ZOOM online
    03 Mar, 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm GMT
    ZOOM online
    LECTURE-9: NATIONAL SYSTEMS OF INNOVATION AS AN ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT TOOL. by Dr. Kehinde Medase, College of Business & Economics, University of Johannesburg, SA. & Elvis K Avenyo, Oxford TMCD, University of Oxford CHAIR: Professor Godinho, Manuel Fernando Cilia De Mira, ISEG University of Lisbon
  • Kenneth F. & Gifty A. | Mammo Muchie
    RSVP Closed
    Fri, 26 Feb
    ZOOM online
    26 Feb, 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm GMT
    ZOOM online
    LECTURE-8: APPLICATION OF NATIONAL SYSTEMS OF INNOVATION by Dr. Kenneth Fung, UOW Malaysia KDU & Dr. Gifty Boakye Appiah, KNUST, Kumasi, Ghana. CHAIR: Professor Mammo Muchie, Tshwane University of Technology, South Africa
  • Hezron M. | Franco Malerba
    RSVP Closed
    Fri, 19 Feb
    ZOOM online
    19 Feb, 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm GMT
    ZOOM online
    LECTURE-7 DIFFERENT APPROACHES TO NATIONAL SYSTEMS OF INNOVATION by Dr. Hezron Makundi, University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania CHAIR: Professor Franco Malerba, University of Bocconi, Milan